Specific performance

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Specific performance

I am talking about legal contracts, not race car performance. I am not a lawyer, but I had to pass a tough exam in business law to become licensed in my profession.

If a car owner or team signs a driver to drive in the IRL, unless there are some escape clauses in the contract, the first time the team cannot put a driver in the race because of money problems, the team is in violation of the contract, and the driver can break the contract.

IPS is to be run under the auspices of the IRL, but IPS races are not IRL races, and, minus the escape clauses for the team/owner, the driver, if he or she wants to, can break the contract if all the team can run is IPS.

Anyone catch my drift?
    quote:
    "It is sad that open-wheel racing has become a buy a ride situation, but it is what it is."

Originally posted by nm:
    <STRONG>I am talking about legal contracts, not race car performance. I am not a lawyer, but I had to pass a tough exam in business law to become licensed in my profession.

If a car owner or team signs a driver to drive in the IRL, unless there are some escape clauses in the contract, the first time the team cannot put a driver in the race because of money problems, the team is in violation of the contract, and the driver can break the contract.

IPS is to be run under the auspices of the IRL, but IPS races are not IRL races, and, minus the escape clauses for the team/owner, the driver, if he or she wants to, can break the contract if all the team can run is IPS.

Anyone catch my drift?</STRONG>
    Race contracts are written such that there are performance clauses, escape clauses, and all sorts of other clauses to anticipate the changing economy, changing sponsorship, etc.

Maybe you should become Sarah's personal manager! You're no doubt referring to her current situation I'm sure, and seem to care a lot about what happens to her.