question for anyone who might know

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• question for anyone who might know

This may have been brought up here before and if it has I am sorry. I just read the Falcon thread and was very disapointed to see that a couple of the engine manufacturers wouldn't even let their teams look at the Falcon. IMO this seems very wrong.

Anyway, my question is...

Would it be possible for the IRL to have engines that are not badged? Maybe something much cheaper that maybe lacks some of the bells and whistles while being much more affordable? Maybe something like a stock motor? All answers would be appreciated.
    Last edited by IndyIRLman; 08-14-2003, 06:54 AM.
    IRL, Champcar and F1 fan

I am not an expert on the rules, but I think the rules would have to be changed to allow this. I would doubt this would be done, as no engine manufacturer wants to risk being beaten by a no-name engine.
    One driver's "fuel strategy" is another driver's "speed up or we will park you!"

Comment

The IRL can do whatever it want's. I've heard people push the idea of true stock blocks and I've always been against it, but I'm starting to warm considerably to the idea.
      "Promote what you love instead of bashing what you hate."

2018 Indianapolis 500 photo gallery

2018 Long Beach Grand Prix photo gallery

2017 Indianapolis 500 photo gallery

Comment

Originally posted by BlueStang
        I am not an expert on the rules, but I think the rules would have to be changed to allow this. I would doubt this would be done, as no engine manufacturer wants to risk being beaten by a no-name engine.