NY Times: Sam

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NY Times: Sam

This is an excellent story on a fine young man. Since the NY Times requires registration, I'm going to beg Rev's indulgence and ask him to bend the rules. I'll post the whole article here:

August 4, 2003

A Champion's Life in the Slow Lane

By VIV BERNSTEIN

DEFIANCE, Ohio - The two-time defending champion of the Indy Racing League is a millionaire who lives in a two-bedroom apartment over a garage across the driveway from his parents.

Money hasn't changed Sam Hornish Jr. He still pays his parents $400 for rent each month. He still bowls regularly with his high school buddies. He still prefers that his mother handle his finances.

And Hornish still wakes up every morning surrounded by cornfields in this small farming community in northwest Ohio.

"I've been racing Indy cars since 1968 and I've never met anybody like him in my life,'' said John Barnes, co-owner of Panther Racing and Hornish's boss. "It just tells you how grounded he is. He's not all impressed with what he's done. He doesn't live a high-profile life.''

Yet few drivers have a higher profile in the I.R.L. than Hornish, 24. He won the series championship in 2001 and 2002, his first two full years on the circuit, and has established himself among the top Americans on a circuit featuring many foreign drivers.

The I.R.L. continues to battle Nascar for the best young American drivers and the fans who follow them.

"Sam and the Indy Racing League have grown together over the last three or four years and we hope we'll have him as a full-time driver to help promote our series, and in turn, hopefully our series can help promote his career,'' said Tony George, president of the I.R.L.

It is a hope, not a guarantee. Hornish's contract with Panther Racing is up at the end of the year, and Hornish said he was being courted by teams from the I.R.L., Nascar and the CART series. He expects to make a decision this month.