X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Racing Guide - 1970 Popular Mechanics

Another oldy but goody, starts on page 3:

http://books.google.com/books?id=5dc...page&q&f=false

Page 30 features "Driving with Dan" as in Dan Gurney.

Great story on the "new" F-14 Tomcat too!

Nice! I read the entire magazine, it brought back memories. As a 13 year old in 1970 I was just getting started in racing...that summer I graduated to mud scraper on the sprint car my dad sponsored.

Somewhere in the magazine there was a paragraph about global warming, stating that within 50 years the earth's temperature would rise 9 C, sea levels would rise four feet, and snow in the lower 48 would become a thing of the past. Kinda funny.

Thanks for the link!

Comment

Wow...Great posr.

I read most of it and loved the old track diagrams. I knew about all of the tracks listed history already, but had no idea about one.

I know Phoenix has a road course on the inside, and it is used all the time, but I had no idea the road course actually went out through the back stretch with an outside course and then came back in.

Looks like it was the normal thing back then, except in today's ISC Rovals they are all inside the oval.

Interesting....

Comment

first line stock car section.

Comment

Originally posted by brad pbc View Post
          first line stock car section.
          You mean where it says:

"Most popular form of U.S. auto racing"!?

Ricky

Comment

Originally posted by MPalmer View Post
            Wow...Great posr.

I read most of it and loved the old track diagrams. I knew about all of the tracks listed history already, but had no idea about one.

I know Phoenix has a road course on the inside, and it is used all the time, but I had no idea the road course actually went out through the back stretch with an outside course and then came back in.

Looks like it was the normal thing back then, except in today's ISC Rovals they are all inside the oval.

Interesting....