Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Official Indy Japan 300 race Thread

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Official Indy Japan 300 race Thread



    Pre-Race Notes:

    This is a race thread where we discuss the racing action on the track and is not meant to be a place to stand on your soapbox and preach, bicker, annoy, offend, etc.

    If you want to talk about the politics of the series, feel free to make a single comment/observation/opinion and then go start a thread and discussion in the appropriate forum for further discussion (Perhaps the "IndyCar series direction discussion" forum or the "Racing Biz" forum).

    If you want to talk about why ovals rule and road courses suck, or why road courses rule and ovals suck, make a single comment/observation/opinion and then go start a thread and discussion in the appropriate forum for further discussion.

    If you want to talk about attendance/crowd, make a single comment/observation/opinion and then go start a thread and discussion in the appropriate forum for further discussion (Perhaps the "Racing Biz" forum)

    I am not advocating censorship. I am advocating the proper use of this thread and the use of common courtesy and mutual respect.

    In short, make an observation, ask a question, make a prediction, crack a joke, add some insight, and express an opinion, just don't dwell on it, beat a dead horse, and/or kill the buzz and drag the thread down for others


    Time Zone Conversions

    .......... Pacific -16 . Mtn -15 . Central -14 ... Eastern -13 ........... GMT+9


    Current Indy/Eastern Time (accurate upon each screen/thread refresh)


    Current GMT Time (accurate upon each screen/thread refresh)


    Here is the conversion to calculate Japan Local Time:
    PT + 16hrs = Japan ..... JST-16=Pacific
    MT + 15 hrs = Japan .... JST-15=Mountain
    CT +14 hrs = Japan ..... JST-14=Central
    ET + 13 Hrs = Japan ..... JST-13=Eastern
    GMT + 9 Hrs = Japan .... JST-9=GMT


    Weekend Schedule
    http://www.indycar.com:8080/var/asse...alSchedule.pdf

    Sunday, September 19th
    Prerace Festivities = 12:10PM Local japan
    minus 16 hrs = 8:10 Sat PT
    minus 15 hrs = 9:10PM Sat MT
    minus 14 hrs = 10:10PM Sat CT
    minus 13 hrs = 11:10PM Eastern
    minus 9 hrs = 3:10AM GMT

    Race is at 1:00PM Japan
    1PM Sunday Japan minus 16 hrs = 9PM Sat PT
    1PM Sunday Japan minus 15 hrs = 10PM Sat MT
    1PM Sunday Japan minus 14 hrs = 11PM Sat CT
    1PM Sunday Japan minus 13 hrs = Midnight Eastern
    1PM Sunday Japan minus 9 hrs = 4AM GMT

    "Looks like we chose the wrong to to stop taking amphetamines!"


    Versus TV Broadcast according to IndyCar.com
    http://www.indycar.com/schedule/cont...cast-schedule/

    Saturday, September 18

    Qualifications and Prerace
    10:00PM ET
    9:00PM CT
    8:00PM MT
    7:00PM PT
    2:00AM GMT

    Race
    11:00PM ET
    10:00PM CT
    9:00PM MT
    8:00PM PT
    3:00AM GMT

    Race Replay on Sunday, September 19
    7:00PM ET
    6:00PM CT
    5:00PM MT
    4:00PM PT
    11:00PM GMT

    Note - CHECK YOUR LOCAL LISTINGS - Even though IndyCar.com says that there is Versus coverage starting at 10ET (Qualifications), My local DirecTV listing shows the broadcast starting at 11 Eastern.


    Radio Broadcast Schedule
    http://www.indycar.com/schedule/cont...adio-schedule/

    Saturday, September 18

    Qualifications (webcast on indycar.com only)
    10:00PM ET
    9:00PM CT
    8:00PM MT
    7:00PM PT
    2:00AM GMT

    PreRace (webcast, XM/Sirus, OTA Broadcast)
    10:30PM ET
    9:30PM CT
    8:30PM MT
    7:30PM PT
    2:30AM GMT

    Race (webcast, XM/Sirus, OTA Broadcast)
    11:00PM ET
    10:00PM CT
    9:00PM MT
    8:00PM PT
    3:00AM GMT

    Note - According to the Radio Schedule at http://www.indycar.com/multimedia/content/34100-radio/ the broadcast starts at 11:30PM eastern Time


    Radio Webcast
    http://indycarnation.indycar.com/liveradio

    Radio Broadcast (IICS Race Only)
    http://www.1070thefan.com/listen/

    HTML Timing & Scoring
    http://updaterc.indycar.com/html/

    RaceControl Live Video
    http://racecontrol.indycar.com/ (login required)
    http://racecontrol.indycar.com/RaceControl.swf (no login required)


    Local Motegi Weather
    http://www.intellicast.com/Local/Wea...ation=JAXX0113

    Sunday (Japan Time) - High 81, Low 68, Sunny

    Twin Ring Motegi is near the upper right hand corner of the "T" in Tokyo





    Starting Grid
    http://www.indycar.com:8080/var/asse...tinglineup.pdf

    P ..... Car ... Speed ........... Time ......... Driver
    1 ..... 3 ..... 201.992 mph ..... 00:54.18 ..... Helio Castroneves
    2 ..... 6 ..... 201.595 mph ..... 00:54.29 ..... Ryan Briscoe

    3 ..... 12 .... 201.464 mph ..... 00:54.32 ..... Will Power
    4 ..... 10 .... 200.966 mph ..... 00:54.46 ..... Dario Franchitti

    5 ..... 26 .... 200.188 mph ..... 00:54.67 ..... Marco Andretti
    6 ..... 11 .... 200.013 mph ..... 00:54.72 ..... Tony Kanaan

    7 ..... 37 .... 199.624 mph ..... 00:54.82 ..... Ryan Hunter-Reay
    8 ..... 8 ..... 199.488 mph ..... 00:54.86 ..... EJ Viso

    9 ..... 4 ..... 199.226 mph ..... 00:54.93 ..... Dan Wheldon
    10 .... 5 ..... 199.191 mph ..... 00:54.94 ..... Takuma Sato

    11 .... 9 ..... 199.021 mph ..... 00:54.99 ..... Scott Dixon
    12 .... 7 ..... 198.935 mph ..... 00:55.01 ..... Danica Patrick

    13 .... 34 .... 198.795 mph ..... 00:55.05 ..... Bertrand Baguette
    14 .... 14 .... 197.952 mph ..... 00:55.29 ..... Vitor Meira

    15 .... 19 .... 197.557 mph ..... 00:55.40 ..... Alex Lloyd
    16 .... O2 .... 197.402 mph ..... 00:55.44 ..... Graham Rahal

    17 .... O6 .... 197.361 mph ..... 00:55.45 ..... Hideki Mutoh
    18 .... 22 .... 196.852 mph ..... 00:55.60 ..... Justin Wilson

    19 .... 2 ..... 196.813 mph ..... 00:55.61 ..... Raphael Matos
    20 .... 32 .... 196.463 mph ..... 00:55.71 ..... Mario Moraes

    21 .... 36 .... 196.302 mph ..... 00:55.75 ..... Roger Yasukawa
    22 .... 24 .... 195.709 mph ..... 00:55.92 ..... Paul Tracy

    23 .... 77 .... 195.483 mph ..... 00:55.98 ..... Alex Tagliani
    24 .... 78 .... 193.561 mph ..... 00:56.54 ..... Simona de Silvestro

    25 .... 18 .... 192.53 mph ..... 00:56.84 ..... Milka Duno


    Spotters Guide
    http://www.indycar.com:8080/var/asse...MOTEGI_web.pdf
    * PT's car is rendered in Motegi Wheels markings and is primarily blue with white (just like KY)
    * Taku has IRacing and Inter rush on the sidepods (Thanks Stickman!!)
    * Yasakawa is standard Conquest orange w/white sidepods - "CWE" on the sidepods, "VIDA" on the cowl
    * Simona's sidepods are bare (Thanks Stickman!!)
    * Wilson is Red and Black 9as usual) but with "Kona Deep" on the sides


    Current Point Standings

    Overall Championship
    1 .... 552 .... Will Power ..... Behind Leader .. Behind Next Position
    2 .... 535 .... Dario Franchitti ..... - 17 - 17
    3 .... 469 .... Scott Dixon ..... - 83 - 66
    4 .... 449 .... Helio Castroneves ..... - 103 - 20
    5 .... 418 .... Ryan Briscoe ..... - 134 - 31
    6 .... 404 .... Ryan Hunter-Reay ..... - 148 - 14
    7 .... 392 .... Tony Kanaan ..... - 160 - 12
    8 .... 347 .... Marco Andretti ..... - 205 - 45
    9 .... 346 .... Dan Wheldon ..... - 206 - 1
    10 … 335 .... Justin Wilson ..... - 217 - 11

    Rookie Of The Year
    1 … 236 .... Alex Lloyd ..... Behind Leader .. Behind Next pos
    2 … 218 .... Simona De Silvestro ..... - 18 - 18
    3 … 188 .... Bertrand Baguette ..... - 48 - 30
    4 … 184 .... Takuma Sato ..... - 52 - 4
    5 … 149 .... Mario Romancini ..... - 87 - 35

    AJ Foyt Oval Championship
    1 ..... 228 ..... Dario Franchitti .......... Behind Lead ..... Behind Next Pos
    2 ..... 201 ..... Scott Dixon .......... - 27 ..... - 27
    3 ..... 199 ..... Helio Castroneves .......... - 29 ..... - 2
    4 ..... 197 ..... Tony Kanaan .......... - 31 ..... - 2
    5 ..... 177 ..... Dan Wheldon .......... - 51 ..... - 20
    6 ..... 171 ..... Ryan Briscoe .......... - 57 ..... - 6
    7 ..... 169 ..... Marco Andretti .......... - 59 ..... - 2
    8 ..... 149 ..... Danica Patrick .......... - 79 ..... - 20
    9 ..... 140 ..... Will Power .......... - 88 ..... - 9
    10 .... 140 ..... Ryan Hunter-Reay .......... - 88 ..... - 0

    Point System
    Pole = 1 point .... Most laps led = 2 points
    1st 50
    2nd 40
    3rd 35
    4th 32
    5th 30
    6th 28
    7th 26
    8th 24
    9th 22
    10th 20
    11th 19
    12th 18
    13th 17
    14th 16
    15th 15
    16th 14
    17th 13
    18th-24th 12
    25th-27th 10


    Practice Highlights
    None Posted at www.youtube.com/indycars as of posting time


    Practice Highlights
    None Posted at www.youtube.com/indycars as of posting time


    Highlights From Last Years Race



    Highlights From 2008's Race



    Lap of Motegi With Danica




    1995 Milwaukee
    * Just like last week, this complete race gem from the IndyCar Youtube site has nothing to do with this weeks race, but it is a complete race, commercial free





    This Guy Gets It!!!
    Last edited by vandele; 09-18-2010, 01:22 PM.
    My IMS seating map is now hosted at http://www.16thandgeorgetown.com and http://www.imsseating.blogspot.com

  • #2
    Sorry to start this 12 hrs early - I may not be around until close to race time
    My IMS seating map is now hosted at http://www.16thandgeorgetown.com and http://www.imsseating.blogspot.com

    Comment


    • #3
      I see RHR is only 14 points out of 5th. It would be nice to see him knock Briscoe out of the top 5.

      Comment


      • #4
        If you are going to post, at least include a little information

        Comment


        • #5
          any sunday replays by any chance?

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by ColdSpiderGT View Post
            any sunday replays by any chance?

            Race Replay on Sunday, September 19
            7:00PM ET
            6:00PM CT
            5:00PM MT
            4:00PM PT
            11:00PM GMT
            My IMS seating map is now hosted at http://www.16thandgeorgetown.com and http://www.imsseating.blogspot.com

            Comment


            • #7
              Checking in early folks. Brand new HP Netbook so I don't have to wrestle the big laptop from the stepson come race time! Beer and shwarmas on hand. Must ... pace ... myself ... until ... 11pm!

              porscheman
              @porscheman121 on Twitter #+200HP!
              237.498/241.428/242.333 Speeds from the olden days!

              Comment


              • #8
                vandele, you simply rock.
                "I didn't hear a single comment about airboxes, "carbashians", or how terrible the car looked. I did see dozens and dozens of little kids in awe of the speed and how cool the cars looked. We should learn from our children."
                --Danny Noonan

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by porscheman View Post
                  Checking in early folks. Brand new HP Netbook so I don't have to wrestle the big laptop from the stepson come race time! Beer and shwarmas on hand. Must ... pace ... myself ... until ... 11pm!

                  porscheman
                  Dude, you know how to put together some good race chow. Shwarmas? Nice!
                  Manus haec inimica tyrannis ense petit placidam sub libertate quietem.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Me thinks you put a little work into this.
                    Good job. Thanks.
                    Last edited by devowood; 09-18-2010, 07:59 PM. Reason: I do as I am told. Sometimes.
                    www.fairtax.org


                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Originally posted by devowood View Post
                      Me thinks you put a little work into this.
                      Good job. Thanks.
                      I relly needed to go through that all again. Thanks for your advanced quoting skills sir!

                      porscheman
                      @porscheman121 on Twitter #+200HP!
                      237.498/241.428/242.333 Speeds from the olden days!

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Originally posted by porscheman View Post
                        I relly needed to go through that all again. Thanks for your advanced quoting skills sir!

                        porscheman
                        was just thinking the same thing, lol!!
                        Faster...Faster...Faster...I know it, you know it, that's all that matters!

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Originally posted by devowood View Post
                          Me thinks you put a little work into this.
                          Good job. Thanks.
                          It is all just cut and paste using the prior race thread and a few new links form the IndyCar site at this point. Other than that, the info is just the kind of things that I usually look up prior to a race, so when I visit the sites I normally do, I just copy the link and upchuck it here.

                          If you have a chance, you may want to go back and edit your post and take out the quote of the entire first post so that folks don't have to scroll all the way thru it for a 2nd time.

                          Thanks for all of the kind words (and thanks to everyone else for the thumbs ups!!)
                          My IMS seating map is now hosted at http://www.16thandgeorgetown.com and http://www.imsseating.blogspot.com

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Originally posted by vandele View Post
                            It is all just cut and paste using the prior race thread and a few new links form the IndyCar site at this point. Other than that, the info is just the kind of things that I usually look up prior to a race, so when I visit the sites I normally do, I just copy the link and upchuck it here.

                            If you have a chance, you may want to go back and edit your post and take out the quote of the entire first post so that folks don't have to scroll all the way thru it for a 2nd time.

                            Thanks for all of the kind words (and thanks to everyone else for the thumbs ups!!)
                            As always, a big thank-you!

                            porscheman
                            @porscheman121 on Twitter #+200HP!
                            237.498/241.428/242.333 Speeds from the olden days!

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Fixed. My apologies.
                              www.fairtax.org


                              Comment

                              Unconfigured Ad Widget

                              Collapse
                              Working...
                              X