Unconfigured Ad Widget



No announcement yet.

USAC award winners

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • USAC award winners

    Thanks to Dick Jordan:

    Ron Gregory of Noblesville, Ind. is
    the 2003 USAC Weld Racing
    Silver Crown "Rookie of the Year," finishing 14th
    in the final series
    standings. The step-son of former USAC driver
    Gary Irvin posted top-10
    finishes at DuQuoin, Ill. (eighth) and Syracuse,
    N.Y. (10th). Gregory's
    year-end awards include a $2,000 cash award from

    Michael Lewis of Noblesville, Ind.
    and Mat Neely of Robinson,
    Ill. share the 2003 USAC National Sprint Car
    "Rookie of the Year" honors.
    Lewis finished 15th in points and Neely finished
    16th. Lewis recorded
    feature victories in the "Rich Vogler Classic" at
    Winchester Speedway and
    the "Joe James/Pat O'Connor Classic" at Salem
    Speedway in his first-ever
    starts at those historic speedway and also won
    the 2003 USAC Western Sprint
    Car Championship. Neely finished the season with
    three straight "top-10s"
    and had a third-place finish at Putnamville, Ind.
    Lewis and Neely will
    split the $1,000 year-end cash award from UNO.

    Ryan Durst of Lincoln, Neb. Is the
    2003 USAC National Midget
    Car Series "Rookie of the Year," finishing 10th
    in the standings. He posted
    seven top-10 finishes and was named "Rookie of
    the Race" in last Thursday
    night's "Turkey Night Grand Prix" 100-lapper at
    Irwindale, Calif. Durst
    also receives a $1,000 cash award from UNO.

    Tyler Walker of Los Angeles, Calif.
    finished fifth in the Weld
    Racing Silver Crown standings and is the 2003
    series "Most Improved
    Driver." He had third-place finishes at
    Springfield, Ill. and Tulsa, Okla.
    and added a pair of fifth-place finishes.

    Marc Jessup of Camby, Ind. earned
    the National Sprint Car
    "Most Improved Driver" award with his 14th-place
    point ranking. He posted a
    half-dozen "top-10s" in 15 starts, including a
    fourth at Indianapolis
    Raceway Park and a fifth at Nazareth, Pa.

    Tom Hessert of Cherry Hill, N.J. is
    this year's "Most Improved
    Driver" in the National Midget Car Series.
    Finishing ninth in the final
    points, he had eight "top10s," including a fifth
    at Eldora Speedway in June.

  • #2
    Great to see Ron get another ROY award. Only one to comment on at the time.


    • #3
      Danny, does anyone have info on how the distribution of the "Road to Indy" fast qualifier money was paid out this year? How much total, who won the most and how much that was, or anything close to it?
      "Each day well lived makes every yesterday a dream of happiness and every tomorrow a vision of hope. Look well therefore to this one day for it, and it alone, is life"
      ~ Sanskrit poem attributed to Kalidasa, "Salutation to the Dawn"

      Brian's Wish


      Unconfigured Ad Widget