Pondering the modern front-engine Indy car

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pondering the modern front-engine Indy car

I've been daydreaming about this for a couple of years now, and I have taken my admittedly rudimentary, aviation-oriented knowledge of aerodynamics and fan's knowledge of chassis design (WAY less advanced than my aerodynamics, I'll admit) to sort of brainstorm what a modern, front-engine Indy car might look like. I've come up with two that I posted on my racing history web site, one with wings and one without wings. I went into this thinking that whether the roundy-round purists like it or not, we are going to need some semblence of aerodynamic ground effects on the cars, one way or another, because at the speeds these cars are going to be running there will need to be SOMETHING holding 'em on the ground, even if there are no "wings" per se. So I came up with 2 designs.

The winged one I envisioned being kind of like a "standard" formula-type Indy car, pointy-nosed and with sidepods and wings, but with the engine mounted in front of the driver and the driver pushed back a couple of feet, but it does have front and rear wings that operate like the ones we have now, with all of the associated benefits to adjustment and handling. Sort of like a slimmed-down Panoz ALMS roadracer. I figured if the Panoz could be built and run halfway competitively, it shouldn't be that big a leap to build a single-seater, open-wheel version.